Skip to content

From the Pen of David Horowitz: November 29, 2009

November 29, 2009

david_p

Day in and day out, my wife prayed for my health and for my continued presence on this earth. Her brother Joe and his wife Martha, who attended a Catholic church, St. John’s of Vianney, had organized thirty Hispanic men, women and children, including my nieces, to pray for me too. There were others. Every morning these relatives and strangers whispered my name in their intimate conversations with God, and implored him to spare me. I was touched and strengthened by their love and by their answered prayers. I was saved – at least for the moment– and was grateful for that. I would be able to share life with April again, to be with my children and grandchildren, to rise in the morning and greet the sea.

Was God really behind this good fortune? Had he intervened to rescue an agnostic soul as a reward to the believers? Thankful as I was for their concern, I didn’t like to think so. For if He had saved me to answer their prayers then I would also have to hold Him responsible for the others, whose prayers went unheard.

One of the patients who came regularly at my appointed time was a young woman who seemed to be in her twenties. She did not come in from the parking lot where her husband might be waiting for her as my wife did for me. She came in a wheelchair accompanied by a sad woman who appeared to be her mother and who had wheeled her to the radiation clinic from one of the recesses of the vast hospital complex we were in. She had barely begun life, but her eyes had already traveled to a distant space, displaying a vacancy that could have been equally the result of medications or resignation. For her this life had become a waiting room from which there was no exit. I could not help thinking, each time I saw her, of the many lives I had been privileged to live in my span, and those she would not.

I was acutely conscious of the inhabitants of the cancer ward whose prospects were worse than mine. Along with those who loved them they had endured multiple operations, multiple setbacks, years of a crippled existence, and a fate on hold. “Life is a hospital,” the poet Eliot wrote. I could appreciate the metaphorical truth in the image, but it still felt like a violence to the reality that confronted me. Not all life’s hospitals were equal and not all God’s children were saved.

The End of Time

If you have a favorite Horowitz quote you want to highlight for others then please email it to DavidSwindle {@} Gmail.com. Please include:

  1. “Horowitz Quote of the Day” in subject line.
  2. A link to where the quote is from. (No need to include this if it’s from a book.)
  3. Any remarks you’d like published explaining what value you take from it.
  4. Your preferred name and a link to your blog or homepage (if you have one.)
33 Comments
  1. theconservative permalink
    November 29, 2009 5:14 am

    Does anyone have the mind of God? I don’t understand why He answers some prayers with the answers I’m praying for and others He doesn’t. But I do know He knows better than me what is best….faith in Him and His working in my life is what really counts. Faith isn’t always knowing all the answers but believing He is and that He loves me more than anyone. Hebrews 11:1, “Now faith is the assurance of things hoped for the conviction of things not seen.” Anyone not sure if there is a God just has to pray and ask God. There is a scripture that says, “Ask and it shall be given to you, seek and you shall find, knock and the door shall be opened to you” These words Jesus spoke of His Father. Everyone puts their faith in something, people, money, etc These will all fail you at one time or another……God will always do what is in your best interest.

  2. Brad permalink
    November 29, 2009 5:20 am

    David asks, and answers for himself, the age-old questions: “If there is a God, why is there evil in the world?” and “If there is a God, why do bad things happen to good people?”

    I submit the questions themselves contain the seeds of their own answers: “if God does not exist and we are accidents–there is no evil” and, “if there is no God, there is no such thing as good or bad.”

    Please ask and answer the more fundamental question of how we got here in the first place, David.

  3. Nick Chagouris permalink
    November 29, 2009 6:00 am

    The questions I’m reading above seem to be based upon a belief that death is an evil. We don’t know that, but it sure seems that way. We know suffering, and it too appears to be an evil. Lonliness, sadness, loss, grief, melancholy…all counted as evils. Most of these, if not all, are inevitable – to greater or lesser degree, part of the package on planet earth.

    I have had several very narrow escapes from death. There was a time when I thought because of God’s hand, I was spared. This caused me to follow by thinking I was somehow special. Then I began to think of how many were not spared death – and I felt foolish. And then lucky.

    I’m not Catholic but I had an opportunity to ask a priest about this. I told him I was angry with myself for ever thinking I was somehow special and held in God’s favor. I told him I thought I was just lucky and asked what he thught. He said he didn’t know. He thought it was only important that I struggle with the question. I think he was right.

    For struggling with the question I have gained some needed humility. I gained a higher value for human life. I gain character, sympathy, and empathy through suffering the inevitable “evils” of life. There was a long and more difficult time when I avoided those emotions through alcohol and drugs or escape of any creative kind. And I stopped growing.

    Fortunately when we willingly accept and embrace the mysteries, we grow in dog years. I almost act my age today.

    There is an evil I feel certain about. When a person purposely impedes another’s spiritual growth. Murder is perhaps the most extreme of ways.
    But there are a lot of subcategories.

    Finally, I think people who willingly struggle with these questions are people who want to be good and do good. That’s another thing I discovered when I struggled – the only motive I had was wanting to know where I stood with God. Not easy to do when you’re not even 100% certain there is a God. But I seek.

  4. Elvis permalink
    November 29, 2009 6:52 am

    Here’s hoping you find an answer. Many philosophers have grappled with the problem of suffering, and there are many books to guide you. One of the best known of recent times is C.S. Lewis’ “The Problem of Pain.”

    P.S. The Catholic church where your brother-in-law went was almost surely called “St. John Vianney,” which was the saint’s name anglicized.

  5. therealend permalink
    November 29, 2009 7:07 am

    There are a lot of stumbling blocks when it comes to religion. The biggest is the existence of God. Some people stop when they come to these blocks in their way. Some will find a way past them. It’s all a struggle. Finding faith isn’t always easy. Keeping it isn’t always easy either. Why should it be?

  6. November 29, 2009 7:52 am

    Faith comes from the individual hearing God and say exactly what God tells you. Romans 10:17 Faith cometh by hearing, and hearing by the word of God. KJ

  7. Rebecca Moulds permalink
    November 29, 2009 8:13 am

    I have just read a remarkable conversation that Albert Einstein had with one of his professors; it was in regards to why Einstein believed in God; he said it was because of his faith. Although we have no physical proof, we only have our faith that God exists and that we were created by Him. Throughout the ages, the eternal question of “is there a God?” has driven some to madness, others to great heights of ecstasy. I have been very close to death many times but truly believe that God has spared me—many were praying for my recovery from various illnesses, including cancer. Others were not spared, including my young cousin who died of the same disease that I had. This is such a mystery and makes some people become very bitter and wonder, “If there is a God, why is there death?” We don’t know the answers to these questions. In Psalms 53:1, David wrote “The fool hast said in his heart, There is no God. Corrupt are they, and have done abominable iniquity; there is none that doeth good.” We do not know the full power of God and do not understand His ways—often the scoffing that an atheist throws at those who believe in God is a disguise for fear that God truly exists because that means that humans are not all-powerful, that there is a Superior Being in control of the universe. That is almost too much for a mere mortal to comprehend; but there is no fear for believers.

  8. Carterthewriter permalink
    November 29, 2009 8:56 am

    Without the belief in a supreme being, one has no constraints to the horrors he is capable of committing. Unfortnately, the message has become a source of evil for the self-righteous ones.

    We have been splattered upon this earth and must find our own way to salvation.

    • Gail permalink
      November 30, 2009 4:36 am

      Splattered upon the earth? Hardly. Psalm 139 v 13 says “For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made.” There is a purpose for my life which is to know Him, to love Him and to tell others of His wonderful amazing grace.
      I have just prayed for you — that you would come to know Him and respond.
      May God bless you, may His face shine upon you AND grant you peace.

  9. Lisa Schroedel permalink
    November 29, 2009 9:06 am

    Each life is a unique biography. Have you ever known anyone exactly like you? I have never met anyone exactly like me, a fact I find fascinating. Anyone who has experienced the death of a loved one will agree that no one could ever take the place of their dear one. We are a military family whose lives are sequenced into assignments, deployments and tdy’s. As we look back on our lives we can clearly see the chapters that have made us what we are today. We have known many who we would consider hero’s. Some of their stories have ended. Some are just beginning. Some of the stories to long to tell in one book! All of these biographies, short or long, are just as complete. (2 Timothy 1:9 (New King James Version)
    9 who has saved us and called us with a holy calling, not according to our works, but according to His own purpose and grace which was given to us in Christ Jesus before time began,)
    David, God showing His love toward you and your family during your illness was showing you who He is. He is love beyond our understanding. None of us deserve His goodness, neither can we earn it. That is the point. He just is…Because there is freedom in this truth we can believe it…or not. Jesus was also offering those whom you saw suffering the same love. Each of their stories unique from yours, every one touched by the hand of God, according to His perfect understanding and merciful compassion. I for one, am glad you made it through your battle David!

    • theconservative permalink
      November 29, 2009 3:12 pm

      great comment….thanks!!

  10. politicalmoxie permalink
    November 29, 2009 9:22 am

    I held our Mother’s hand as she passed from this world to the next. Because of this, in watching her last moments, I KNOW someone comes for us. As I quietly talked to her, for over an hour, her breathing was very labored and her eyes never left my face. Finally, she turned her head and looked at the window next to her bed. She turned back to me, quietly took three very easy breaths and she was gone.

  11. elaine schiff permalink
    November 29, 2009 10:33 am

    I am not sure why God spared me-several times from cancer-its not my place to question the reasons. But it hurts when those in my family who were much younger than me, and God took them.
    A doctor once told me that the hardest death for a woman to get over is the death of her child, and that I’m sad to say is true. It;s also understood that it does not get any better, the pain gets to be a part of you.

  12. Cas Balicki permalink
    November 29, 2009 10:59 am

    There are five types of prayer: Adoration, expiation, love, petition, and thanksgiving. The most troubling of these is petition which is generally encouraged by the phrase “ask and it shall be given.” The problem with prayers of petition is that far too often they take on the character of incantation in that the prayer becomes a plea for magic by other means. For example: a student can pray for a passing grade in calculus all he wants, but it is far more likely that actually studying the material would generate a higher probability of affecting the desired result than prayer would. The equivalent would be to pray for a lottery win without buying a ticket: no matter how much you pray, without a ticket your number will not come up. So can we, based on the above, conclude that petitionary prayer is useless as in this particular case the student’s prayers would go unanswered?

    As an aside: The second most problematic of the five kinds of prayer is expiation or prayer for forgiveness. The reason this type of prayer is problematic arises from the question: Would the vilest of sinners be forgiven if he fell to his knees and expressed contrition? One need not look past examples such as Hitler and Stalin—mass murderers of prodigious proportion—to illustrate the logical conundrum. Indeed, one of the most often criticized sacraments of the Catholic Church is Penance, because it holds out this very idea of forgiveness for monstrous sin through “simple” confession. What is mostly sped past in the critic’s rush to judge “confession” is the fact that the sacrament cannot be used as shelter from justice. In order for the penitent to be truly forgiven and achieve a state of grace he must accept the dictates of the church. A murderer’s penitential regimen on confession will never be restricted to saying three Hail Mays and one Our Father. His duties would almost certainly include confession to proper legal authority. Failure to comply with the established penitential regimen would be taken by the priest as noncompliance thereby freeing him of the secrecy imperative. As for forgiveness of the vilest sinners among us, the Christian must accept on faith that God is infinitely just.

    The remaining three categories of prayer are for the most part self-explanatory.

    Now to get back to magic by another name: Petitionary Prayer. The most important prayerful words petitioners encounter are often committed to irrelevance in the petitioner’s rush to plead for a good grade or a return to health and they are “Thy will be done.” On first blush these four words would seem antithetical to “Ask and it shall be given.” But the reality for the believer is that he, to be true to his belief, must first accept that God wants the believer to succeed. It is the nature of this God’s success that we mere humans have difficulty with, especially in our times of trial. What is it that God wants us to achieve? Can we get there from here in the presence of temptation, illness, and death? The answer, which the Christian must again accept on faith, is that God wants each individual to occupy a hallowed place in the communion of saints. That is the success we are to achieve. Getting a good grade in calculus may or may not help achieve this success, but the strength of character required to do the work necessary to attain that ‘A’ will. To pray for the strength and courage to accept God’s will while doing what is necessary to prove his love to all about us is the secret of all petitionary prayer. Any other petitionary pray is the equivalent of asking for the right numbers to pop-up in the next lottery draw, you may win but it won’t necessarily get you where you want to go.

  13. Papa permalink
    November 29, 2009 11:17 am

    It is, of course impossible that God exists. It is, of course, impossible that God does not exist.

    • Nick Chagouris permalink
      November 29, 2009 3:39 pm

      It is, of course impossible that nothing exists.
      Therefore, nothing is impossible.

      It is impossible for there to be nothingness.
      Then, everything is not only possible, it simply is.
      Everythingness is.
      Nothingness is not, i.e. No Thingness.
      We know there are things.

      God is everything and of which we are a part.
      God within me as an ocean within a wave.

      We ask, does God exist?

      A fish swam past another and said, “Isn’t the water beautiful today?”
      The other asked, “What is water?”

  14. Papa permalink
    November 29, 2009 11:26 am

    Good luck to you David.

  15. November 29, 2009 2:03 pm

    I agree with politicalmoxie…we do not enter the next dimension alone. The day my mother died of cancer, she kept reaching out as if to take someone’s hand. My sister said her mother-in-law did the same. My mother’s hospice nurse said that reaching out to take someone’s hand shortly before death is practically universal. Life does not end when our physical one does…our spirit, which is eternal, lives on. And we are ushered into the next dimension by some kind of being. Angels? Departed loved ones? Death is painful for the loved ones left behind, but clearly, God views death differently than we do. We simply move from one dimension to another. David, you have been such a blessing to so many people. I will be praying that you find your way to our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ. May God bless you.

    • politicalmoxie permalink
      November 29, 2009 6:28 pm

      Thank you Elizabeth.

  16. drone permalink
    November 29, 2009 2:52 pm

    Here is one more Catholic praying for David. Of course, he asks these ageless questions that Job, Isaiah and the many Prophets asked. Some great inquiry and speculations can be found in the writings of such Holocaust survivors as Elie Weisel and my personal favorite, Viktor Frankl, who, like many Catholics, managed to find meaning in human suffering. What sort of God would allow millions to be slaughtered and others to be spared and even those monstrous (Nazi) tormentors to go on to thrive without any earthly retribution whatsoever? My only response is that we are limited by our very miniscule human perspective of time and space. I do pray David that your many good works and righteous life will be rewarded by our merciful and loving God.

    Peace and Love to you sir.

    • theconservative permalink
      November 29, 2009 3:27 pm

      These things happen because we are not puppets of God. We have a free will……which gives us the choice to do good or evil. We come to Him because we choose to. We do good works not to earn salvation but because of what He has given us….salvation. His grace and mercy are there for us to accept if we choose to do so. His love is unconditonal….His salvation is conditional.

  17. William James Ward permalink
    November 29, 2009 3:49 pm

    God’s possible view of death as the end of our mortal existence would
    be different than we could understand without understanding some of
    the greater complexities and simplicities of a Devine Being. To watch
    someone less fortunate go through similar misery and face death is to
    bring about differing questions. Why them and not me, their fate,
    their life, shorter, longer, greater or lesser suffering, I live,
    they die. Death takes us all, I thought I might just get out of this
    world alive, always whining how pretty I was, way to pretty to have
    bad things get me and of course death. However my mind is changing,
    some. God sees us all enter eternity immediately, time does not
    affect His experience, He is outside of time. It is our experience,
    we see people die but only while in time, when we go it is over for
    us but we know that others are still living. If it is all over,
    nada and we are a footnote somewhee well I would not like that,
    maybe someone would with a big bad history of sin. Seems strange but
    the people you see die and your death though in perceived time
    are the same to death. We all come before God at the same time in
    my understanding, time is for us not for God. Having had a few close
    calls I do not take it lightly, yes I am close to the end of my
    rope and I hope it is not one that will hang me. In our understanding
    contrast can be mind destroying, the feelings cripple right down to
    the marrow of the bone. My younger brother died of cancer and passed
    away from this world with a big smile on his face. His doctors
    stated he never complained, they knew he suffered greatly. A Marine
    he was tough in life, a rough kind of guy but kindly in person.
    He died smiling, he was accepting death, he was gentle and concerned
    with the feelings of others. My pain is not being able to forget the
    cries and sobbing of my Mother, “How could God do this to me, take
    my child, I should not outlive my children.” I reminded her that she
    would be with him again, when my mother passed she was anxious to be
    with the Lord who promised her many things, she lived with the promise
    that her household would be saved with her, I beleive that. God says
    His ways are higher than our ways, His thoughts higher than our
    thoughts. I have seen people die that should have lived and I have
    seen people live that surely deserved to die. No one should play God,
    nor think He is subject to our criticisms’. For those who do not
    beleive in God, it does not change Him, he gave us free choice.
    Pain and suffering, man brought it into the world. All of our
    complaints come back to human failure, how could we possibly exist
    if we thought those complaints fell on deaf ears. God hears, He cares
    and the way to Him is available, it is in the Cross of Christ the
    power of it overcomes our separation with God if we accept Jesus
    died on that cross for our sins to set us free of the sting of death.
    The wages of sin is death, the door is open and freedom awaits
    if you will only accept it. Pray for the continued health of
    David Horowitz and may he find the answers that will sustain him
    for eternity.

  18. Nick Chagouris permalink
    November 29, 2009 4:27 pm

    The most challenging of these questions emerge when after one agrees to seek, he considers the Nature of God. Is God an impersonal spirit of “order” in the universe? Or is God more? Is there a God personal to me with Whom I can have a relationship?

    Here is where people begin to bristle. You will see it. Many get angry at the mere suggestion. They are lost kids, who think they know.

    “We don’t know one millionth of a percent of anything.”
    - Thomas Edison

    If there is an all knowing God, would he/she/it make it impossible for him/her/it to be known by His/Her creations? That makes little sense.

    I submit that all is mere speculation and cannot be proved intellectually. Searching for God with the intellect is like searching for the sun with a flashlight.

    God must and can be “experienced” through a 6th sense that He installed in all of us. That sense becomes atrophied due to lack of use just like our others. Therefore, we must exercise – practice.

    We know God through INPIRATION only. Inspiration literally means “God Breathed.” In-Spirit-ation. Through our vital 6th sense. We are not whole with merely 5 senses.

    “Be still and know that I am God.”

    It is through stillness of the mind body and emotions that we are Inspired which is where all true creativity comes – through God.

    The mind, body, and emotions CANNOT be still whn they contain certain things, such as lies (dishonesties), selfishness, fear, and anger. This is the problem of ours and every generation. We do not know how to rid ourselves of these things, and in today’s world, some our encourages and celebrated. This is an evil. To encourage blocking of the spirit.

    When a person successfully empties these obstructions from his self, there is temporarily no ego (self) that blocks him from union with God.

    Ego is the conscious feeling of separation from.

    We are not separate, but all connected. We are a part of evrythingness. Our ego insists we are different, unique, and separate.

    This is the great lie of the ego.

    People wrongly think they must get good to get God, but instead we must get God to do good.

    The Truth, which will indeed set us Free, is that we are One with God and the Uni-(One)-verse. There is no separation other than our perception.

    Interestingly, from the Anglo word “Hal” these other words are derived”

    HALLOW
    HALLOWED
    HAIL
    HEAL
    HEALTH
    WHOLE
    WHOLENESS
    HOLY
    HOLINESS

    May we all find our path that leads us Home.

  19. Cynthia Lauren permalink
    November 29, 2009 7:04 pm

    Yes, David. Your razor-sharp perception has keenly deciphered this Truth.
    May you continue to be blessed and protected as you dare to question in front
    of a Holy GOD who loves you. He hears your heart cry and will continue to draw
    people from all over this planet to uplift you in prayer as you confront evil with
    the brilliance that only HE gave you. He has molded that courageous heart that
    beats within your chest and given you eyes to discern visible right from wrong.

    Your empathy astounds me, therefore ~ it’s an honor to pray for you daily, Sir.

    Keep daring to ask the tough questions, David; and remember Albert Einstein said these things… “God does NOT play dice.”; & “Humiliation and mental oppression by ignorant and selfish teachers wreak havoc in the youthful mind that can never be undone and often exert a baleful influence in later life.” (so we should always question whom/what we’ve been indoctrinated by/with).

    I applaud your courage and compassion, Mr. Horowitz, and will continue to lift you up in prayer daily.

    Cindy Thorpe, South Australia

  20. Don Markle permalink
    November 29, 2009 8:20 pm

    We all die because we all sin, yet God gives us a way out the brings glory to Him and joy to us. God takes sin more seriously than we do I fear, and loves more than we can imagine to become one of us, forever. I have found this statement to helpful in such contenplations.

    God uses the least amount of pain (and perhaps the most pleasure) to bring the most people into the deepest love, without violating free will or perfect justice.

  21. Answers1 permalink
    November 30, 2009 3:53 am

    Good and evil lie on the ends a continuum. If we were to strike off all evils, we would have a new continuum, and we would re-define evil to anchor one end of it.

    I derive much comfort from the fact that God created me. That is purpose enough for me.

  22. mitchel44 permalink
    November 30, 2009 9:52 am

    Thanks goodness, that’s all.

    http://www.edge.org/3rd_culture/dennett06/dennett06_index.html

  23. jgreene permalink
    November 30, 2009 11:11 am

    God loves you, David. It doesn’t matter whether or not you believe in God. I’m happy that you have recovered. You are important to all of us. Keep telling the truth. We’ll all continue praying for you.

  24. Sassamon permalink
    November 30, 2009 12:07 pm

    This is the verse that I thought of when I read the article….
    and there are several versions.

    “Before I formed you in your mother’s womb I knew you. Before you were born I set you apart I appointed you to be a spokesperson to the nations.”

  25. William James Ward permalink
    November 30, 2009 7:50 pm

    It was in 1955, early Spring and I was nine years old and knew
    about what all nine year olds did at that time but I was on
    early vacaton, school was not out for my cousins and would not be
    for several days. I walked in their country town down red clay
    roads and enjoyed myself immensely. With a wary eye I kept a lookout
    for snakes, I had heard enough about them from my cousins to
    have a healthy appreciation of their abilities. I was born in
    Brooklyn New York and sojourning in the deep south was just
    so very different. I became familiar with everyone, young and old,
    The contrast of white and black, native and Yankee, ouch! sometimes
    I did not care for the attention I got.

    While alone walking I met a small person who did not walk normally,
    nor walked on the road but along its side and felt for direction.
    Not dressed in anything I recognized as normal clothing, I did
    let curioscity overcome caution and I called out. Not being a big
    kid and skinny as can be I still scared this person and I found that
    hard for me to beleive. Over-friendly I guess but at that age so what.
    The closer I got the more this stranger in appearance, this small man
    was. I grasped that on close inspection, he was in rags, torn shoes,
    bare feet protruding and to my growing fear terribly deformed.

    Now rather than make my appearing worse I simply said “high my name
    is Billy” This person did not speak for quite some time and
    found me harmless and so moved along not seeming to hear any of
    my questions. The time came for him to move up a small hard to see
    path away from the road, I stoped and stared expecting him to
    fade away but he stoped and waved for me to follow. I did so and
    discovered the most unusual person of my young life. He was left
    behind by his family many years earlier, deformed at birth he was
    never taken out of his home, sickly and hardly able to talk at all
    he found himself alone, utterly alone one dark morning, abandoned
    by a roadside not far from where I met him.

    I was in for a tale of sadness that made me weep and left me
    speechless. He had survived living on scavanging late in the
    evening or early in the morning when no one was about. He said
    in his strange young old voice with horribly broken words that
    I was the first person to speak to him that he could remember and
    he avoided everyone always, the fluke was I was a child out of
    school which did not happen there. I followed him to his dwelling,
    a small shack, pieced together with pitifully deformed hands.
    He was delighted to have someone near for what I found out was
    the first in several years and the only one to come to where he
    lived ever. Later on I would find out more about him and how
    a few locals knew about him but kept it secret so as for him to
    keep his freedom and be kept from being put in an institution.

    He had nothing. For several weeks I would sneak off for a
    visit and words were not so important for me so young to
    visit and experience giving up some time to someone who’s name
    I could not understand. I followed him to the back of a local church
    where he would wander about the stones and crosses, most from the
    late 1700′s and early 1800′s. He pointed to the cross on top of
    the church, I gave him all I knew about it and the church and
    the graves. It seems he was one for listening to the singing
    coming from the building on Sunday. His vocabulary was limited,
    he understood Church and people and worship and Jesus. He had
    nothing. I think I understood and hope I understand when he
    pointed to a grave and the large stone cross and I beleive he
    said “I can go” I said “I will to, someday” I think it was a
    smile but it was the last I saw of him. I learned more over
    time. He did give me one thing, from a folded paper he produced
    a badly shaped wooden cross, cut from dry wood, so uneven, so
    out of shape, so like him and he pressed it into my small hand.
    A person with nothing, he had nothing but gave me the symbol of
    what would be all to me and most of the world. As life goes by
    I see how more and more every day, everyone I know seems so much
    like a small man who had nothing.

  26. politicalmoxie permalink
    December 1, 2009 8:56 am

    Dear William James Ward,

    I could not stop reading, I was mesmerized. You are an example of the reasons I come to NewsReal to read and comment. I have laughed so hard, the dogs woke up, I have been inspired, I have bcome so angry or impassioned I could hardly type. I have also wept.

    • William James Ward permalink
      December 3, 2009 10:33 pm

      All life has great worth but sadly so few of us realize it and
      fewer are able to make the most of here and now, Newsreal is
      a great format…..I enjoy you’re comments……William James

Trackbacks

  1. Sunday Comment of the Day: Pursuing Holiness and Understanding God « NewsReal Blog

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers