Skip to content

The Embrace of Freedom and the American Idea Does Not Know Race

September 16, 2009

image003

NewsReal critic “Pbrauer” commented on Mark J. Koenig’s reflection of the Tea Party protests and the pictures he took:

Interesting pictures, not one black/brown person in any of them.

What a moronic thing to say. Did Pbrauer really think we wouldn’t have photos to refute his racist claim?

Above and below are two of the many pictures sent to me by NewsReal regular commenter Swemson. Do you need some mustard to help you eat your words, Pbrauer? Or would you prefer relish?

image007

38 Comments
  1. Swemson permalink
    September 16, 2009 7:59 pm

    If he has the stones to say anything at all, he’ll just say something like “The fact that there were a handful of blacks amongst 10’s of thousands of white protestors doesn’t mean a damned thing to him…..

    Well Mr. Brauer, you don’t mean a damned thing to us either !

  2. Paul Cooper permalink
    September 16, 2009 9:30 pm

    How sad that we even have to show this. Will we ever leave the race games that the left tries to play? They refuse to allow MLK’s dream to happen.

    • September 16, 2009 9:39 pm

      Maybe it’s just my Generation Y optimism talking but yes, I think we’ll get there someday. Might take 40 or 50 years, but we’ll get there.

  3. September 16, 2009 11:19 pm

    There is a moronic rebuttal to this, but of course, it is moronic. Because Shelby Steele, Joseph C. Phillips, Michelle Malkin, Sonja Schmidt, and (dare I say it?) many more that are not “authentic” enough. Oh, did I draw my intellectual/metaphorical gun too soon?

  4. September 16, 2009 11:20 pm

    It was sarcasm on that second sentence, by the way.

  5. pbrauer permalink
    September 16, 2009 11:23 pm

    Of course there are always exceptions – you found 3 – big deal. I’ve seen those pictures elsewhere BEFORE I made the post.

    But all I am doing is pointing a simple fact? Can’t I do that without being called racist?

    Here is a FOX video, you be the judge.

  6. pbrauer permalink
    September 16, 2009 11:34 pm

    The Unauthorized 9.12 Teabagger Tour

  7. pbrauer permalink
    September 16, 2009 11:45 pm

    Great shots of the crowd here, lets see how many you can count.

  8. September 17, 2009 12:09 am

    Maybe it’s just me, pbrauer, I guess I’m too busy “teabagging” (wink, wink) someone, but it seems like you’re points are not standing well. I mean, first off, David said you made a racist claim, not that you’re racist, but hey, this is a free country, you have every right to be a racist, as long as you don’t impinge upon other’s rights, right? Second, if you can’t acknowledge that three people (that’s anyone, regardless of color, to spell it out) are a big deal, and especially if you still think it’s filled with racist whities that let black people join their Tea Parties, then what does that say about you? I mean, shouldn’t we look at individuals and what’s actually going on? Secondly, the first video you gave shows how civil (definition: of or relating to ordinary citizens and their concerns) these people are; the second (and this is just me), kind of shows how the camera crew are lacking in civility (definition: formal politeness and courtesy in behavior or speech); and the third video seems a bit skewed of something, maybe it’s facts, but I could be wrong. But, of course, I’m too busy “teabagging.” You should try it sometime.

    All my jokes aside, though, I respectfully disagree with you’re defense of yourself, as you have every right to defend your ideas and ideals, and I encourage you to do more of it. However, if it’s too much for me to ask, could you kindly not do the squawk-parrot thing (i.e. calling these people Teabaggers)?

  9. Michelle permalink
    September 17, 2009 3:04 am

  10. September 17, 2009 4:12 am

    It seems pbrauer you doth protest to much.

    • pbrauer permalink
      September 17, 2009 8:15 am

      Keith,

      haha. I understand your feeble attempt with your Shakespearean reference, however since I was simply pointing out a fact that people of color were not very well represented, your comment falls flat on the floor. And you thought you were being clever? You may have thought I called you folks racists, which I didn’t or imply that. I don’t know what’s in your heart nor do you know mine. Leave it at that.

      • In the know permalink
        September 17, 2009 10:46 am

        “You may have thought I called you folks racists, which I didn’t or imply that.” BS. The left has been screaming racism since their dirty litte secrets have been systematically exposed. You defend the left using links to leftist blogs. Either you are void of any grey matter or juvenile in your political tactics. Your Dick Dietrickesque response of “what? did I say something people?” is childish. I’m sure you think the response to your overtly obvious (to anyone but a moron) implication of racism is damning evidence that it must be true. It is not a “score” followed by a high five moment. It simply shows how ridiculous your point (that you apparently did not make?) is.

        • pbrauer permalink
          September 18, 2009 8:31 am

          “BS. The left has been screaming racism since their dirty litte secrets have been systematically exposed. ”

          Your strawman argument is just plain stupid. There no such person as “The left.” You views are binary in nature – black vs white – as humans we are all different and don’t fit in a compatment the way you think they do.

          • In the know permalink
            September 18, 2009 2:48 pm

            As I said juvenile. Yes “the left” is not a person and I did not refer to it as such. It is an ideology. As for compartmentalization, really? Thank you for stating the obvious. We are individuals who associate with other like minded individuals. By our associations, one can interpolate an accurate (yet not precise) understanding of ones overall beliefs. Thusly knowing someone by who they associate with is fairly accurate with a few exceptions (sociopaths, spies, operatives, etc..). You strawman fallacy reference reinforces my point. You claim to have not called those “folks” racist but you did. Not brazenly but your reference dripped with innuendo. I contend you meant what you implied. Your playing a game of semantics al la “Dick Dietrick”.

          • September 19, 2009 7:02 am

            Saying there is no Left is like saying there is no Christianity or Islam. Further, would you say there is no Right? Neither the Left nor the Right is a monolith. And within each movement there is a variety of views. That doesn’t mean you can’t still say and talk about “the Left” as one would talk about “Christianity” or the “Right.” It’s what unifies the various factions of the Left (or the factions of the Right) that’s important when using this terminology.

            David Horowitz discusses this in the section titled “The Mind of the Left” in his book Unholy Alliance.
            http://www.amazon.com/Unholy-Alliance-Radical-Islam-American/dp/0895260263/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1253369069&sr=8-1

            • pbrauer permalink
              September 19, 2009 9:56 am

              David Swindle,
              Of course there are those groups you mention. That doesn’t mean they all agree on every subject and if you don’t know you will come away with the WRONG answer a significant number of the times. Even among Christians there are differing views of the significance of Jesus Christ.

              The terms “the left”, “the right” are just collections of things we dislike about the other side.

              I haven’t read Mr. Horowitz’ books, but I am pretty sure he uses anecdotal evidence to “prove” his points. He was on the Thom Hartmann show last last week, so I have a sense of where he is coming from.

              BTW, You have an unfortunate last name.

            • September 19, 2009 10:36 am

              “BTW, You have an unfortunate last name.”

              BTW, you are a horrible human being with an empty soul. Perhaps you missed my recent post about the benefit of having the last name I do. As soon as someone makes an inappropriate comment about it it’s an instant judge of character:

              http://newsrealblog.com/2009/09/13/newsreal-sunday-bill-maher-reveals-himself-to-be-a-horrible-human-being-with-an-empty-soul/

              I’ve tolerated your sniping a great deal and defended your right to post when people have emailed me with requests for you to be banned. You’ve occasionally posed good questions and made legitimate points. But this rude comment has drained much of my remaining sympathy for permitting you to continue commenting on NewsReal.

              I engage you in intellectual discussion — my comment to you didn’t have any trace of ad hominem — and you respond with a crack about my name. Consider this your one and only warning to shape up if you want to remain part of the NewsReal community.

    • Swemson permalink
      September 17, 2009 9:10 am

      pbrauer writes:

      “people of color were not very well represented”

      Hmmmm.. Well let’s consider the numbers

      African Americans represent 12.8% of the population, their average income is about 40% less than that of whites, a huge % of them (by comparison to whites) hardly pay any income taxes at all, and 95% of them voted for Obama (now THAT’S racism)…

      So when you take those numbers, and realize that this was basically a TAXPAYER’S protest, how many did you really expect to show up… ?

      • Jeff permalink
        September 17, 2009 1:36 pm

        I literally laughed out loud….great comment

      • pbrauer permalink
        September 17, 2009 3:13 pm

        Swemson,

        You of course realize that your comment about African Americans paying taxes is a stereotype and could be considered racist. I’ll leave it at that.

        • Swemson permalink
          September 17, 2009 3:43 pm

          At least you’re a consistent liar.. I’ll give you that..

          BTW: What took you so long ?

      • pbrauer permalink
        September 19, 2009 6:52 pm

        Come on David, I was kidding you, I had no idea you were so sensitive. I never meant to hurt our embarass you. I appologize for my comment about you name. It will not happen again.

        • September 19, 2009 6:56 pm

          I’m not sensitive about it. I just love it because it’s a great instant reveal regarding a person’s character and judgment.

          • pbrauer permalink
            September 19, 2009 7:37 pm

            You should love you name as you appaerently do, I love my name as well. In my life I have never been as judgemental as you seem to be. Brauer is my middle name, not my surname. And plenty of people have made fun of my names. Life is too short to get upset about it, in my opinion.
            I guess I don’t understand how my faux pas, makes me a terrible human being.

            • September 19, 2009 8:25 pm

              Read the post that I linked to above in which I discuss the subject at length as it relates to Bill Maher. Then you’ll understand. In my life and my family members’ life we’ve discovered a correlation between someone striking out at us upon first learning of our name and that person revealing themselves to be a jerk.

              The fact that you don’t understand why your comment is inappropriate and rude is only further evidence of your sociopathy.

              And you still don’t understand that I’m not upset or offended.

  11. The Inquisitor permalink
    September 17, 2009 7:19 am

    pbrauer has to inject the irrelevant issue of race into the discourse because he looses any debate on substantive issues. It’s a smokescreen. Don’t let him or anyone else sidetrack you from the heart of the discourse.

    • pbrauer permalink
      September 17, 2009 8:25 am

      Irrelevant? The Republican party has been called the “party of white people.” Sadly they seem to think making Michael Steele the chairman of their party fixes things. Where they thinking about his qualifications or his skin tone. I have no answer, perhaps you do.

      • carterthewriter permalink
        September 17, 2009 11:12 am

        Your comments are irrelevent, but you’re earning your pay, I suppose each blog has a radical voice. We ran the last one off because he only knew how to use fowl language, you are a bit more inteligent, but just as boring and occasionally humorous.

        Please sail on,

      • The Inquisitor permalink
        September 17, 2009 11:42 am

        I couldn’t care less whether people call Republicans the party of white people. I don’t give a rat’s ass whether they are white, black, purple, or polka dot as long as they are Americans and neither should you or anyone else. In America race is a non issue except for those who pander to racists.

        • pbrauer permalink
          September 17, 2009 3:25 pm

          The Inquisitor,

          There is no doubt in my mind that most of the participants at the rally were honest hard working Americans. It takes a minority of people to spoil it for the rest. It makes we wonder why Freedom Works and FOX didn’t ask participants not to bring offensive signs. THESE SIGNS CLOUD THE MESSAGE!!!!

          • In the know permalink
            September 18, 2009 5:16 am

            You only wonder that because you believe that event was astroturf (as evidenced by your reference to Freedomworks and FOX). A poorly executed “stealth” insult attempt. “Mr. pbrauer, what you’ve just said is one of the most insanely idiotic things I have ever heard. At no point in your rambling, incoherent response were you even close to anything that could be considered a rational thought. Everyone in this room is now dumber for having listened to it. I award you no points, and may God have mercy on your soul.” O’Doyle rules!

            • Swemson permalink
              September 18, 2009 9:57 am

              Please just ignore this moron…

  12. Julie Trevor permalink
    September 17, 2009 7:41 am

    Pbrauer cannot articulate facts to substantiate his claims i.e. there weren’t attendance takers at the event, so no one really knows how many people of any variety were there, so he does what any good Leftist does “claim” the problem exists and then discredit anyone who says it doesn’t.

    It’s similar to the tactic they employ when anyone raises a concern about their agenda…claim the problem doesn’t exist and then discredit anyone who says it does.

    But beyond all the above is Pbrauer’s outright denial of anyone who showed up at the event their due as an American to be heard…discount the whole bunch because in his limited mental capacity, there weren’t enough of a certain kind in attendance. Pathetically!

    Julie

  13. Julie Trevor permalink
    September 17, 2009 7:43 am

    Pathetic! I meant
    JBT

  14. Judy permalink
    September 17, 2009 3:33 pm

    I noted a smart observation on this blog assigning moniker’s to those that fling unsubstantiated comments, irrelevant observations, and spout moronic analysis and then run and hide behind African-Americans to be used as human shields. So, today, I shall call these idiots “racisters” and “bigoters” in the fine tradition set forth by the god’s of the planet Liberal, ruled by such digbats like resisters Carter and Olbermann, and bigoters O’Donnell and Maddow.

  15. pbrauer permalink
    September 20, 2009 9:05 am

    David,

    I read your blog post about Bill Maher and completely agree with you on that. However, I think you should take a few steps back and read what I wrote. I didn’t turn your name into some crude joke as Bill Maher did or what was said at the dentist office. If anything I was showing some empathy for people with such names.

    My surname is the same as (although spelled slightly different) as the dumb Nazi guard in Hogans Heroes. I have endured many jokes over the years, so I have sympathy for you.

    My sin seems to be stating the obvious for which have apologize to you for doing so.

    • September 20, 2009 10:20 am

      If Maher had said to Weiner “BTW, You have an unfortunate last name” it wouldn’t have been much better than making the penis joke.

      But I’ll accept your apology for now.

Comments are closed.