Skip to content

Don’t Trust Public Schools, Beck Tells O’Reilly

October 2, 2009

glenn-beck

On Tuesday’s “O’Reilly Factor,” Glenn Beck explained why he doesn’t trust public schools to educate his children:

Because I saw a change in my older kids when they went to school. And I also — I just don’t like revisionist history. I don’t like the fact — when my daughter, my second to oldest daughter decided she was going to go to college and she was going to study ancient history, I said, “How about some current history? You know, America is kind of good. How about, you know, studying some…”

The enthusiastic home-schooling father said his daughter told him, “Dad, American history, every time I look into it, we’re always on the wrong side. We always are doing the wrong thing.”

This depressed Beck. He said he thought to himself that if his daughter, growing up in his household which is filled with flag-waving and patriotism “she still can’t beat it…there’s no chance.”

Works for me.

Beck examined another piece of leftist propaganda on a recent show. That anti-capitalist, anti-individualist video made by former Greenpeace employee Annie Leonard and the extreme-left Tides Center, is being shown to schoolchildren across America.

Meanwhile, the doltish Joy Behar of the TV show “The View” trashed Beck. “He was an alcoholic and a drug addict at one time … and it sort of follows, yeah, that he would be crazy now,” she said. Keep it classy, Joy.

9 Comments
  1. ElanaSe permalink
    October 2, 2009 6:39 am

    Education starts at age zero.
    Children should be taught the basic, understood on all levels principles as early as possible. Putting flags and telling how great our country is not enough. You should actually tell the story which makes sense and follow the contest. You should challenge the child, ask him what he thinks. Vivid imagination at the young age helps a lot. It will sink, no matter what and even leftist education will be a minor event in your child’s life. Crazy, unchangeable leftist at the college are unchallenged in the past children. They’re still immature and insecure because their parents didn’t demand answers for the taught questions.

    My parents were always critical of the Soviet government and the image of my father, connecting electric wires to the heating pipe, trying to catch “Voice of America”, BBC and “German wave”, is still alive. And even if I wasn’t immune to the school brainwashing, intuitively I felt that my parent’s attitude is the real and the right thing because it made perfect sense to me.

    • donnamarie permalink
      October 3, 2009 4:45 am

      I agree whole-heartedly with ElanaSe. I grew up in a very politically conservative home. It was not that the information was shoved down my throat but I would listen intently to the political discussions my (mostly) father would have with his parents and brothers and sisters. I can tell you that as a junior in high school (1976-1977), I was the only one in my American History class that defended the American decision to use nuclear weapons in Japan. Quite honestly I was only parroting back what I had heard my father say at a family gathering but (and this debate still goes on and is much more involved than my simplistic position back then) I was the only one with an alternative point of view. My classmates were aghast.

      I have two children that attend public school and have watched how they have been taught (among other things) to hate big oil, follow the PETA agenda, and to be tolerant of every ethnic group there is except for anyone who is white. My husband has made a concerted effort to make sure that our kids are taught the other side saying “Someone has to do this”.

      At 46 years of age I decided that I change my career and become a history/social studies teacher. My first (and so far only) job was at an innercity charter school. Over ninety percent of the students were either hispanic or black. I can whole-heartedly assure you that the majority of my students were being taught in their homes that whites were bad. It just did not matter what era in history I was teaching, or who I was teaching about-the mantra from the students was “just another white guy” or “some white guy”. The gist of the discussion always turned to how stupid whites were, etc. Quite obviously the students were being taught this in their homes, but the textbooks mirrored what they were saying. One of my textbooks was so slanted, I read it merely for entertainment value and would not use it for classroom work.

      The only way to teach our kids good things about the United States is to make sure that you know what your kids are learning in school and make sure that you are always ready to present the other side to them. I have a couple of books at home that are written from a conservative point of view-these have great counter arguments to almost any liberal bias that the kids come home with. Just make your kids think about what they are saying. Sometimes the simple question of “Why do you think that?” is enough to stump them.

      • Kate permalink
        October 3, 2009 7:12 am

        Which books? I.e., titles of the ones that contain counter-arguments to liberal claims.
        Thanks

        • Donnamarie permalink
          October 4, 2009 7:54 am

          Books:
          Try “The 10 Big Lies About America” by Michael Medved; “Conservative Comebacks to Liberal Lies” by Gregg Jackson and there is another entitled “Lies My Teacher Told Me”, I cannot find it right now so cannot tell you the auther. The last book is definitely a liberal translation of what should be taught in history class but it gives you an idea of what you will be fighting when your kids come home.

      • lbgage permalink
        October 3, 2009 8:41 am

        What are the titles of the books that contain counter-arguments to liberal claims? I’m a high school math teacher and conservative and could use all the help I can get in my inner city school.

        • jerry permalink
          October 4, 2009 6:56 am

          you must have the knowledge in you head…read liberalism is a mental disorder m savage to first understand that their premise of rationality is askewed and then you will begin to generate cogent arguments against liberal philosophy.

  2. Joyce permalink
    October 3, 2009 7:28 am

    Meanwhile, the doltish Joy Behar of the TV show “The View” trashed Beck. “He was an alcoholic and a drug addict at one time … and it sort of follows, yeah, that he would be crazy now,” she said.

    Hey, Joy, News flash! Look around you. 80% of the people in the so called entertainment business are alcoholics and drug addicts, or have been.

  3. Michaelle Maloney permalink
    October 3, 2009 3:02 pm

    Joyce–

    Its amazing how the liberals have to point something that has happened years ago to a conservative to try to make them look bad. Then recently that lefty talk show host- Lettermen or whoever told millions of people about his sexual encounters with his coworkers and blackmail-but that is all of a sudden justified. Actually, he gave TMO (too much information).

    So, as long as a person is liberal-its ok to be a sexual pervert. But if its a conservative, Oh no! How dare you!! The double standard is so obvious-they are the vipers that they are.

  4. October 5, 2009 12:40 am

    Trouble with the so-called “history” that has been force-taught for the past 150 years in the Federal schools (indoctrination centers), is that it’s all a lie ! All of it is the invented Federalist propaganda they have called “history”! Heck even the schools and education being run and controlled and owned by the Federal govt is UN-Constitutional! The Founders nor the Constitution gave any permission or power to the DC Federal govt to touch education or schools in any way or have any of their Un-Constitutional entites touch it either (NEA)! ALL public schools in America today are totally illegal and so is the forced attendance! FORCE! – THAT IS ALL DC KNOWS! And anything FORCED is Marxism/Communism! And their self-determined control and ownership of OUR kids and what they are taught in those schools is criminal! And the FORCED TAXES TO PAY FOR IT ALL IS ALSO CRIMINAL and UN-Constitutional! If it were not for home-schooling we’d not HAVE ANY educated or decent kids in this land at all !

Comments are closed.