Skip to content

From the Pen of David Horowitz: October 6, 2009

October 6, 2009

david_p

So powerful is the hold of the progressive faith, however, that Lerner too is finally unable to break its hold. This, despite the fact that it has been the basis for her lifelong commitment to a monstrous cause. “Like all true believers, I believed as I did because I needed to believe: in a utopian vision of the future, in the possibility of human perfectibility,…. And I still need that belief, even if the particular vision I had embraced has turned to ashes. (Emphasis added.)

After a lifetime of lies, her political choices are the same: hostility to the capitalist democracies of the West and faith in a utopian future. This is the illusion that led to her commitment to Communism in the first place, undisturbed the earth-shattering events of seventy years. She clings to her faith even though she now knows (like Hobsbawm) that Communism was never the solution she believed and argued it was, and the Communist state no longer exists. Notwithstanding that the West and her anti-Communist enemies were right all along, Gerda Lerner is still a determined and passionate enemy of America and the West. In the conflict in Iraq it does not matter to her that Saddam Hussein did not even pretend to advance the cause of “social justice” as Stalin did. It just matters that its antagonist was the Great Satan itself.Lerner includes “idealism and heroism” in her catalogue of utopian ideas, but this is just typical radical bad faith. The idea of human perfectibility – of a society embracing the ideals of social justice —  is integrally connected to the Communist catastrophe. But in what way do a belief in the possibility of individual heroes and/or noble aspirations lead to Marxist gulags? They don’t. Nor are they concepts specific to Marxism and Communism.

Unholy Alliance

This Horowitz quote of the day was submitted by Marylou who said:

Remarks?  I think it stands on its own.  Just that I know it is true.  I was one of those red-diaper babies and didn’t realize it until I found God and his people.  Thankfully, I had been exposed to honest decent people with a moral sense and humility, so I when I was ready for a change of heart and mind I could reach out for a higher road, but I see many who have nothing strong enough to replace their progressive faith. I remember, “Keep the faith, baby.”  That was the most profound thing we could say to each other as a bye, see ya later.

We who have embraced conservative values and returned to our patriotism and great love for this wonderful country need to be patient and sweet with those who might want to leave that hard way of life of street demonstrations and the hard line of thought.  Many have been wounded early in life and could use a tender helping hand to lead their way out of that darkness and shut-down thinking.

I guess I did have some remarks after all, including the thanks as above, and thanks for giving us a place to vent and express ourselves, more than you’ll ever know.

——

If you have a favorite Horowitz quote you want to highlight for others then please email it to DavidSwindle {@} Gmail.com. Please include:

  1. “Horowitz Quote of the Day” in subject line.
  2. A link to where the quote is from. (No need to include this if it’s from a book.)
  3. Any remarks you’d like published explaining what value you take from it.
  4. Your preferred name and a link to your blog or homepage (if you have one.)
16 Comments
  1. October 6, 2009 2:21 am

    I was brainwashed into leftwing nonsense at the early age of ten. Who doesn’t want peace and utopia on earth? Especially a little kid. I was against the Vietnam war, sympathetic to Communism — as much as my pre adolescent brain could handle. I was so Leftist in my youth that in a mock presidential vote in junior high, I wrote in Dr. Spock’s name as my choice for president.

    What changed my mind away from such leftism was reading the history of Soviet Communism and its mass murders. Such authors as Werner Keller’s “East – West = Zero and running across a YAF book called, “Worker’s Paradise Lost” (I think that is the title name).

    Also, reading Soviet refugee, Ayn Rand, helped cure me of my Leftwing baccilus.

    I tend to think Aristotle was correct when he warned about young people absorbing politics too early. One needs some life experience to figure out what system people should live under.

  2. shane comeback permalink
    October 6, 2009 2:55 am

    A quote from another blog:
    “Do not blame Caesar, blame the people of Rome who have so enthusiastically acclaimed and adored him and rejoiced in their loss of freedom and danced in his path and gave him triumphal processions. … Blame the people who hail him when he speaks in the Forum of the ‘new, wonderful good society’ which shall now be Rome’s, interpreted to mean ‘more money, more ease, more security, more living fatly at the expense of the industrious.'” –Roman statesman Marcus Tullius Cicero (106-43 B.C.)

    • The Inquisitor permalink
      October 6, 2009 5:28 am

      Thanks for the quote; I will paste it in my collection of quotes. Here is another gem from Cicero.

      Cicero tells the story of Alexander accosting a captured pirate with the words,

      “What is your idea of infesting the sea?”

      The pirate answered,

      “The same as yours in infesting the earth! But because I do it in a tiny craft, I’m called a pirate; because you have a mighty navy, you are called an emperor.”

  3. October 6, 2009 4:25 am

    The comments above by Underzog are very informative and form a strong argument against the modern emphasis of trying to get teenagers involved in politics by granting them the vote at age sixteen. At that age they all tend to left wing [il]liberalism.

  4. jjay permalink
    October 6, 2009 5:43 am

    Best wishes and God speed on your complete recovery from the illness of which you suffer.

  5. jbtrevor permalink
    October 6, 2009 6:03 am

    Most people start out with “Leftist” ideas, it’s easier to have someone else take care of everything for you.
    Fortunately most of use grow up and become able to “Think and Do” for ourselves.
    (Anyone remember My Think and Do books from elementary school?)

  6. Joseph White permalink
    October 6, 2009 9:01 am

    I don’t think anyone should vote until after they leave their parent’s house and have to fend for themselves for a year or two. Maybe after they’ve seen how much the government pulls out of their paychecks, they might realize that big government exists to steal money, jobs, and stay in power at any cost.

  7. Judy permalink
    October 6, 2009 12:56 pm

    Julie, you nailed it. The Liberal mantra:
    1. I have all the answers. I am smarter than you.
    2. It’s all about me
    3. Me, Me, Me,Me, Mine, mine,mine
    4. Give me, give me, give me
    5. It’s not my fault
    6. Someone else is to blame
    7. Do it my way, or else
    8. Take care of me/You can take care of me now
    9. I don’t want to do that. I don’t have to do that.You do it for me.
    10.If you don’t take care of me, I won’t like you.
    11. If you would just do it my way, everthing would be perfect
    What am I saying!!!!!!!Sounds like the typical 5 year old doesn’t it.

  8. Bob permalink
    October 6, 2009 1:12 pm

    What happened to the Jews in the 1920’s and 1930’s who sailed off for a return trip to Russia with the promise of a Utopian world? They were smart, young, educated and full of optimism. They were following the Great Patriotic Revolution. The answer is that they were still Jews, despised in Russia for their ethnic heritage and religious beliefs.
    Jewish people married into the new Marxist faith here in the United States and ignored their Soviet Marxist darlings’ distaste for them. The process of perfecting the human species landed our fellow humans in the extermination camps and Gulags. Gerda Lerner traded her beautiful, faithful, heritage for a rotten, red rag. The cornerstones of her ideals- hatefulness toward the Capitalist model, and a warped sense of social justice,has infected millions of our very own citizens. That infection’s major symptom is mass exodus from faith in a Creator in exchange for belief in the perfectibility of man (by force, if necessary).

    • The Inquisitor permalink
      October 6, 2009 1:38 pm

      For an excellent analysis of the attraction of the Soviet state to Jews in the USSR read “The Oslo Syndrome: Delusions of a People Under Siege” by Kenneth Levin. They looked to the state for relief from the hatred they found in their fellow countrymen. As the title suggests he also explains the psychosis of many Israelis.

      • Bob permalink
        October 6, 2009 1:50 pm

        Yeah, Levin has it right. My take is that the mosquitoes that are attracted to my backyard zapper have the same attraction syndrome.

    • Ken Kelley permalink
      October 6, 2009 2:55 pm

      This is interesting. Does the diaspora play a part in developing this attitude. When they were rejected in Western Europe, there seemed to be a common bonding with the Moors as they moved there.

  9. riffenberg permalink
    October 6, 2009 7:48 pm

    “Leftists are in fact the enemies and oppressors of women, children, gays, minorities and the poor and conservatives should never confront them without reminding them of this fact”. David Horowitz

    I have this quote posted several places on my blog. It should be said all the time. I heard David say this when he was a guest on the Sean Hannity Show. I believe it is also in an article on ,”Front Page Magazine”. The quote speaks for itself.

    I have always said the far left would kill us if they could and they are either evil or stupid or both. They are probably both.

  10. October 7, 2009 4:43 am

    Thank you for sharing this illuminating discussion.

    Like many children raised by radical New Left parents in the 1960s and 1970s, my early political education was grounded in a few simple truths: the Vietnam war was terrible; blacks and the poor deserved better lives; Nixon was a corrupt president; and the United States was hurting the world. I remember also giving a school report on Wounded Knee and John Brown. McGovern’s Come Home America speech sounded perfect – and couldn’t understand why Nixon won re-election in a landslide.

    Part of the difficulty of rejecting progressive logic is that the first three beliefs were correct – even if the proposed solutions were incorrect. Too many American have done too many awful things in history – and too few people cared about human rights.

    Yet that same dynamic plays out across the globe, and I thought it was just an American and German disease. Perhaps the biggest error was always holding the United States to utopian standards – and overlooking the crimes and sins of other societies. Why did I learn so much about persecution of American Indians and nothing about the gulags? I remember being completely shocked to learn that “good guys” persecuted their own people in Cambodia, Vietnam, and in China. Reading the British historian Paul Johnson as an adult was a powerful experience – and provided some rational perspective on American history.

    Text, subtext, and context all matter. Teaching American history in isolation from a larger global context often seems to lead to this sort of distorted misperception and often generates a false faith in radical ideas. Or so it seems to me.

    • David Jay permalink
      October 7, 2009 10:47 am

      Eric, you are so right.

      I read a great comment (David Horowitz perhaps?) on Noam Chomsky about the issue of context. The commentator said that If Chomsky was writing about the Second World War, he would describe all of the Allied war “atrocities” without even mentioning the existence of the Axis powers.

Trackbacks

  1. From the Pen of David Horowitz: October 9, 2009 « NewsReal Blog

Comments are closed.