Skip to content

Lunch Break

October 12, 2009

marinecorps

To Wear the Green Again

Do you recall when we were young

And wore the Forest Green,

The oddest thing we had to do

To earn the name Marine?

Do you recall our old D.I.

And P.T. in the pit?

Or how you killed his pet sand flea

And had to bury it?

Do you recall those vanished days

When we were in the Corps?

We’d swab the deck, field day the head—

Then do it all once more.

Do you recall the duty list

And how we tried to skate?

Or how our outfit seemed to thrive

On “Hurry up and wait?”

Do you recall, “It’s BROWN side out!!”

And how the word would change,

Or “snapping in” ‘til muscles ached

When we were on the range?

Do you recall that curious day

When we went off to war?

Or how we bragged we’d be the best

That ever served the Corps?

Do you recall how hard we prayed—

When first we ducked a round—

To not disgrace our uniform,

Or let our buddies down?

Do you recall our sergeant who

Was killed the second day?

Or how we cried like children when

They carried him away?

Do you recall how glad we were

The day they let us out?

Or how you told the Gunny off

And made him swear and shout?

And did you watch the evening news

The day it hit the fan,

And wish, like me, with all your heart

You wore the Green again?

Robert A. Hall

Former SSgt, USMC

Lunch Break is NewsReal’s daily apolitical post. (We all need a break from this political stuff every now and then!) If you would like to submit a video (humorous/music/film trailer/intriguing/etc.), image, or poem for this feature then please email it to DavidSwindle {@} Gmail.com. (Sunday Lunch Breaks are often of a spiritual nature.) Please include:

1. A link to where it’s from.

2. Any Comments you would like published with your submission

3. A link to your blog or homepage if you have one.

4. How you’d like your name published.

Also please keep it no more than PG-13 rated.

17 Comments
  1. Jim permalink
    October 12, 2009 1:17 pm

    OOOOOOORAH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Swemson permalink
    October 12, 2009 3:50 pm

    The Left Doesn’t Have The Stones To Do What Marines Do Every Day

  3. Theodore Blunt permalink
    October 12, 2009 7:27 pm

    1950, Momma sent me to the Post Office to see if we had any mail. This funny dressed man ups to me and said, Semper Fi! I thought he said Seventy Five and I told him Id take it. That started my time in the Marines that lasted until 1973. I do wish I could do it again.

    • Swemson permalink
      October 12, 2009 9:48 pm

      Hey.. the club is getting bigger….

      Maybe we should form a “coalition of Marines”

      Welcome aboard mate !

  4. keithstir permalink
    October 13, 2009 2:41 am

    OOOOH RAH! Semper FI!

  5. RobertEngler permalink
    October 13, 2009 6:55 am

    Oooh-rah!

    As Eleanor Roosevelt noted: “The Marines I have seen around the world have the cleanest bodies, the filthiest minds, the highest morale, and the lowest morals of any group of animals I have ever seen. Thank God for the United States Marine Corps!”

    Semper Fi, my jarhead brothers.

    Bob Engler
    Plano, Texas

  6. "gunner" permalink
    October 13, 2009 7:44 am

    pours and raises glass of tullamore dew, “gentlemen, the corps, semper fidelis!”

  7. Judy permalink
    October 13, 2009 12:29 pm

    Swemson,
    The Left do not need b_lls. They sit back and complain while others with integrity, patriotism and the willingness to defend the Constitution do it for them. This is the true, but, unfair beauty of our constitution. It allows them the right to complain and ridicule those that fight and die for them. We all know who they are. There are not enough words to say thank you for all those that have given, and those that have given and died for our country.

    • Swemson permalink
      October 13, 2009 1:32 pm

      Judy;

      I was a combat photographer in the Corps, & so almost everyone I shot, I shot with a camera…

      With the exception of a rather heated barroom (slop-chute) brawl that I admit to starting… I’ve never lost it and just smacked one of these idiots just because what he said was so offensive to me that he deserved to get smacked…

      I’m not sure that I’d have such self control now…

  8. Judy permalink
    October 13, 2009 3:43 pm

    Swemson,
    My father passed away last year and spoke often of his army experience in WW2. He was a half-track driver in the European theater on the front lines. We were at the Santa Monica farmers market a couple of years ago when he overheard 3 young men in their 20’s ridiculing and making very vulgar remarks about 2 young men in uniform also shopping their with their family. The comments made by these idiots became louder and more vulgar with the seaming intent on starting an altercation. My 83 year old father turned around and poked the larger of them in the chest with his cane and challenged him to come after him. My father told him that he served 13 months in the hell of Europe so that this guys parents could aparently produce a “moron” and “detestable lowlife”. Everyone around us broke out in clapping and cheers. An 83 year old man taking on a loud mouth must have been a sight because they all came up to my dad to thank him for shutting up young men. The 2 soldiers spent some time with my dad, just talking. It goes to show the difference between integrity and honor and the stupidity of others.

    • Swemson permalink
      October 13, 2009 3:46 pm

      JUDY;

      I’M SORRY THAT I NEVER HAD THE HONOR TO MEET YOUR DAD !

  9. Judy permalink
    October 13, 2009 7:08 pm

    Swemson,
    You would have liked him, his honesty, integrity and comittment to God (please no oy veh), country and family. This year I received a thank you for your service formal letter with seal and whatnot along with notice that his headstone had been placed from the VA with Obama’s signature on it. I returned it with a letter asking them to forward it to George Bush for signature and if they could not, do not send it back to me. They did not resend it to me. Last month I received a hand written letter from President George Bush thanking my father for his service. Someone at the VA had the ability to contact President Bush with my request and he sent the sweetest letter on his personal stationary.

    • Swemson permalink
      October 13, 2009 7:32 pm

      Judy;

      I love that you sent it back to Obummer, and I’m not surprised that you heard from Bush….

      I wasn’t a big fan of his. He made plenty of mistakes, but he did get a number of things right, and the character assassination that he endured was totally disgusting….

      When I was a really young kid, my dad took me to some kind of veterans event, where many of the men showed up in uniform (those that could still fit into them I assume) but my dad was in his, and Ike showed up and walked down this long line shaking everyone’s hand… I remember him stopping to shake my dad’s hand.. I was sitting on his shoulders, and I remember my dad with a huge smile on his face say “Great to see you IKE” and I remember being impressed for many years that my dad was on a first name basis with the prez….

      I got to know his veep a little many many years later, in the 1980’s, and can’t say I was similarly impressed….

      • swemson permalink
        October 13, 2009 8:44 pm

        BTW:

        My favorite uncle got pretty badly shot up as a young Marine in the South Pacific on Guadalcanal… and I’m pretty sure that he was the primary reason why I joined The Corps.. although “Battle Cry” by Leon Uris (the book not the movie) had a big influence on me as well….

        • RobertEngler permalink
          October 14, 2009 5:08 am

          Swemson … Battle Cry. Most definitely. I read that book when I was 12 or so. When I read the line, “A bitching Marine is a happy Marine,” I decided right then and there I wanted to be a Marine.

  10. marineseabee permalink
    October 14, 2009 10:17 pm

    I entered boot camp in June, 1968. I was in “the Nam” from 20Feb69 to 17Jul69, when our battalion, 1stBatt 9thMar (The Walking Dead) was pulled out by presidential order. When I got back to “the World” in Mar70, I was on a list of “early outs”. I took it. I’ve regretted it ever since. OOORAH!!!! SEMPER FI!!!!!

    • swemson permalink
      October 14, 2009 10:45 pm

      Hey Bro;

      I got to Parris Island in Feb 68’…

      Were you in the 2nd Recruit Battalion at P.I. ?

      If you were, you could nave been in my DI’s next platoon…

      His name was SSgt Charles Thompson….

Comments are closed.