Skip to content

Rebuttal of the Day: Forsmark Defends His Pre-Existing Condition Argument

October 12, 2009
This is not your sister. It's just a metaphor to help understand the issue.

This is not your sister. It's just a metaphor to help understand the issue.

In Part 8 of “Meltdown with Keith Olbermann” one commenter took David Forsmark’s metaphor of insuring a “wrecked car” a little too personally:

Kennon Bouldin

I’m going to be honest with you. I want to say this up front: I strongly disagree with the majority of what Keith Olbermann says. But… “We all understand why we can’t buy insurance on a car we’ve already wrecked…” My sister has diabetes. She do not have health insurance because of her preexisting condition. Are you seriously suggesting that my sister is a “wrecked car”? That because we were unfortunate enough to not have health insurance, she is not worth taking care of? I’ll be honest. I don’t know what can be done about health insurance. But my family that has worked hard for everything we have, for a long time, just are hardly able to support ourselves. That analogy is inexact and mean-spirited.

Forsmark replied:

David Forsmark
Quantcast Hey, my point was an economic one. That if the ONLY reform passed is getting rid of the ability to screen for pre-existing conditions, no one will buy health insurance until they need it, the price will go up, to a non-sustainable level, and we WILL get socialized medicine. There should be risk pools created like there is for car insurance, there are also employers big enough that all their insurance company does is take the claims each year and ad administrative costs, so it doesn’t matter to an individual.

No one called your sister a “wrecked car.” Taking an example we all understand about how insurance really works personally is a bit much. Calling everyone insensitive, especially Jack who was trying to engage you and help you, is over sensitive.

One other point, we all understand the role deductibles pay in car insurance, but act like our rights are being trampled if we have to pay for an office visit or 10 bucks for a prescription. Imagine what your car premium would be, if you could get every scratch or ding fixed for free. Body shop guys would make doctors look poor, and the President would be saying “the current amount we spend on car repairs as a country is unsustainable.”

6 Comments
  1. fiftyfifty permalink
    October 13, 2009 9:45 am

    The saddest reality is right in front of our eyes every night and day the scooter store, liberty diabetic store and many others there must be a good profit in medical supplies thous commercial’s are not free. Do you think there’s is some corruption going on. Corruption is paying the bills at fox and msnbc, cnn, GE.

  2. Jack Hampton permalink
    October 13, 2009 2:10 pm

    I am not applying this comment to any one it is a general comment. I am fortunate that my doctor is also a friend and got me to understand years ago that just depending on a doctor to give you a pill or a procedure and take care of your health for you leads to an early grave. It is a partnership and the patient must do there part. If a person is 5’ and balloons to 300lb consuming burgers and sugared drinks and smokes two packs a day never exercises and develops all kind of health problems then presents there self to a doctor he or she can just do so much. You have to be a partner in your health care and help the doctor help you. You have to take responsibility for your health as well and work with the doctor that means doing what exercise you can and not be afraid to sweat a little. Small efforts can reap large rewards.

  3. Judy permalink
    October 13, 2009 3:55 pm

    Jack,
    Now you have done it. You mentioned the “responsibility” word. In the Progressive world that is almost cause for banishment to a gulagg. Please be careful using such terms as accountability, self-direction,self-esteem, responsibility, and accountability. That could make you an enemy of the State and the object of ridicule. They may even call you a racist because surely you must have no compassion or belief in social justice and the level playing field offered by Mr. Obama and his chorus.LOL

  4. Kennon Bouldin permalink
    October 13, 2009 6:37 pm

    I didn’t actually take the analogy very seriously at all, I think. I was simply trying to give a real world example so that we were all dealing with a tangible situation with real people and real problems, not some nebulous concept. I’m sorry if Jack didn’t think I appreciated his input; I do. But we weren’t quite on the same page. And no, I never offered any opinion on how any of the health care business should be handled. I simply wanted to put it out there. The wording struck me as a little weird, as well.

    • Jack Hampton permalink
      October 14, 2009 4:50 am

      I was trying to give real world help that I was involved in. That was my only intent. I know there is help many people just do not know how to get it. Most companies thatproduce meds have a web site that you can print out an application to apply for free medication. There are many other things but I will leave it in your capable hands and I appriciate your comments.

  5. In the know permalink
    October 14, 2009 3:49 pm

    They will write a health insurance policy that will cover a diabetic. It will have a rider excluding services directly related to said pre existing condition. Don’t go to a website for insurance, see a financial advisor or an agent. This “can’t get coverage because I have a pre existing condition” argument is a misrepresentation of fact. They usually leave out “I can’t get the coverage I want….”. Also, group coverage has no exclusions for pre existing conditions. Group coverage is available through various associations and employer health plans are group plans.

Comments are closed.