Skip to content

Lunch Break

October 27, 2009

maura

The newest picture my wife April took of our puppy Maura, who has recovered from her recent surgery and sprained paw. We’ve also taken Maura to three dog training classes and she seems to be learning how to follow commands better. So hopefully she’ll be disrupting my blogging and managing of NewsReal less…

Lunch Break is NewsReal’s daily apolitical post. (We all need a break from this political stuff every now and then!) When commenting on Lunch Break posts do not start political debates. In fact from now on any political comments on Lunch Break posts will be deleted. You’ve got all of NewsReal’s other posts to get political, lets keep this one pure.

If you would like to submit a video (humorous/music/film trailer/intriguing/etc.), image, or poem for this feature then please email it to DavidSwindle {@} Gmail.com. (Sunday Lunch Breaks are often of a spiritual nature.) Please include:

1. A link to where it’s from.

2. Any Comments you would like published with your submission

3. A link to your blog or homepage if you have one.

4. How you’d like your name published.

Also please keep it no more than PG-13 rated.

11 Comments
  1. jac mills permalink
    October 27, 2009 11:41 am

    Good to know you are a dog lover, David, as I am. I think I am correct when I say Maura’s coat will darken, or maybe not? I do not have a dog at the moment but at one time I had three: Giant Schnauzer, a Bouvier de Flandres and an Old English Sheep. Due to my traveling, it was difficult to be an owner (who is kidding whom about the owner?) but I intend to get another soon.

  2. In the know permalink
    October 27, 2009 12:29 pm

    Your dog is adorable. David, what do you think about this, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PMe5dOgbu40 . The entire speech is also there, it’s to long but the synopsis should be enough.

  3. Mark J. Koenig permalink
    October 27, 2009 1:18 pm

    Very good-looking dog. Having graduated from UCONN, I’m familiar with the breed, and have always liked it. (The Husky is UCONN’s mascot). I also like the fact that they seem to be fairly non-allergenic to humans. For some reason they don’t shed as much or produce as much dander as some other breeds, cutting down on the chore of keeping your living space dog-hair free!

  4. politicalmoxie permalink
    October 27, 2009 4:35 pm

    Babyness………………………..I’m going to send a picture of PiPi for lunch break.

  5. AuntWie permalink
    October 27, 2009 5:12 pm

    Beautiful pup.

    I can’t say enough good things about the videos of “The Dog Whisperer.” I rent them from Netflix and sometimes see them on Hulu. I’ve had dogs all my life and thought I knew a lot about them, but what I’ve learned from him has made life sooooooo much better – for me and for the dogs.

    (I think his personal philosophy is sort of New Age, touchy-feely, liberal, but there’s not too much of that and the dog stuff is pure gold. Really.)

  6. October 28, 2009 3:48 am

    Dog Whisperer is fantastic .. he knows more about the behavior of dogs that even dogs with Ph.D’s do!

    • jac mills permalink
      October 28, 2009 5:38 am

      Aye, and Caesar knows more about people than most. What an American success story, and from what I can tell, well deserved.

  7. politicalmoxie permalink
    October 28, 2009 7:20 am

    @ jac mills

    Thank you for saying what all of us should have said. I hope Mr. Milan recieves a heads up about these comments.

  8. October 28, 2009 10:19 am

    Great looking dog ! I’ll beg she’s a terrific pet. When I lived in Alaska, a friend of mine had an Alaskan Husky–a different breed from Maura I think. My friend’s Husky liked to play. He tore the skirt-siding off his mobile home while friend was at work. The dog needed activity. My friend was a rough-house kind of guy so he and the Husky got along well.
    My dad was a hunter, so we grew up with Black Labs in the house. Amazing dogs. We fed them steak and potato left-overs from our restaurant. They ate better than most people. Even though they had the run of the house, when it came time for duck-hunting, they hopped in the station wagon and rode to various rivers where my dad had duck-blinds and jumped into the icy water as if they loved nothing better.
    Dogs are man’s best friend, no doubt about it. jd

  9. "gunner" permalink
    October 28, 2009 12:44 pm

    good looking pooch, i had a husky some years ago, from the local animal shelter, we were looking for a dog and when we came by her cage she was right up front, “hey, look at me, i’m your dog, you want me!” and so it was. we had her for several years until she got too much for my wife to handle and we sent her to a farm where she spent the rest of a long happy and active life with a family that loved her as we did. we’ve got a female pit bull now, a sweetheart, gentle and mild tempered. she just had a litter of puppies and i’m keeping the male, “ranger” and will be raising him as a “gentleman dog”, with good manners towards people and other dogs.

  10. jac mills permalink
    October 28, 2009 3:34 pm

    I hoped after David posted the picture we would see just how many of us love these beautiful and loving animals. It is heartening.

Comments are closed.