Skip to content

Media Matters: Where Every Night is Amateur Night

November 16, 2009
liberal-media-bias

(Photo credit: Dena Leichnitz)

Eric “the Excitable” Boehlert’s attempts to be witty and insightful are the moral equivalent of, say, Betty Friedan re-enacting Sophia Loren’s striptease in Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow.

The Media Matters scribe habitually grasps onto the flimsiest conceit, then “pole dances” all over it with the grace of a one-legged sloth with a Vicodin habit.

Today, his “gotcha” is that Conservatives4Palin is like NewsBusters because both sites allegedly publish lots of mistakes. Or something. He repeats this hilarious “idea” three times to make sure we all get it, even offering to “pause while you chuckle” and tossing in a “LOL!”

Regardless, the point (if I understand him correctly) is that “unlike Media Matters,” those two websites play “quite loose with the facts.”

This is the same Media Matters that can’t tell up from down, cites itself as an expert source, and traffics in unsourced “racist” quotes.

And this is the same Eric Boehlert whose chronic typos surely qualify him to receive some sort of disability benefit. Boehlert particularly enjoys scolding other writers for “fudging the facts and ignoring the most rudimentary tenets of journalism” — which apparently don’t include spelling the word “journalism” correctly.

When NewsReal first asked me to monitor the “George Soros Steno Pool,” I balked, hesitant to dip my toe into that dead lake of left wing mendacity every morning. To my surprise, the assignment has turned out to be weirdly exhilarating, in no small part thanks to the Fantasia-hippo-ballet that is the Eric Boehlert oeuvre.

hippo

6 Comments
  1. John Davidson permalink
    November 16, 2009 11:16 am

    This left funded group are managing to help America learn they have no knowledge of human nature. The practice of showing cartoons before the main feature is no longer part of the show, but they persist.

  2. politicalmoxie permalink
    November 16, 2009 1:21 pm

    @ Kathy Shaidle

    LOVED IT!!! Laughed so hard, thank you!
    I’ve written down…Boehlert pole dances all over it with the grace of a one-legged sloth with a vicadin habit. I will give you credit when I use it.
    As for the Soros assignment, I have a friend who says, “George Soros is at the top of my, I’m giving a party when he dies, list.” I admire your fortitude in being able to read Media Matters everyday.
    Maybe I should go back and write down the Betty Freiden/Sophia Loren striptease comparison…hmmmmm!
    By the way, you used one of my favorite words…mendacity.

  3. greyone permalink
    November 16, 2009 6:49 pm

    I did actually go to media matters once when I was looking something up. I can’t remember what it was now. There was some quotation of someone, and no commentary or article to explain why it was there. No one had left any comments on the entry either, so I don’t know if I was the only person to ever go and see it.

  4. November 16, 2009 11:26 pm

    This is hysterical! I mean, I read the conservatives whining and moaning on Twitter after they get beat down with their lack of wisdom and broken logic, but your tiny little bloggette here is ‘afwaid of big bad meanie Media Matters’- which does something your narrow-minded heads can’t grasp: Points out the constant, never-ending fearmongering, falsehoods, spin and hypocrisy that Warpublicans and other Cons devote their lives toward.

    You got spanked in the last election because America didn’t want more of your proven-failure policies. You now bitch about the “evil Islam terrorist” who’s apparently a Nazi/Marxist/Communist/Fascist all at once, and moan over all of the freedoms you’ve lost – oh, Great America! How we miss thee! Oh wait, you haven’t lost a damn single freedom, I forgot. Where were you when we HAD an evil President in office in “I can’t speak English so I’ll make words up” Dubya? Where was the outrage over his trampling over the “goddamn piece of paper” that is the Constitution (his words, of course.)

    History has shown time and time again that America suffers under right-wing rule (oh, except that top 1%- they do stellar then) and thrives under left-wing rule (as backed up by every factual poll: i.e. NOT from Fox Propaganda or “hey, thanks for that cash, right-wing interests” Rasmussen.)

    If the right-wing would stop fighting and let America get BACK to being number one, instead of trying sooooooooo hard to end the Empire and rule the world, we’d all be so much farther along. But instead we get the right: The party of “no”, and the party of “let’s go back and live in the 50’s, that was the best!”

    Keep living in a fantasy world- because you do not live in reality.

    As Media Matters factually points out you certainly aren’t living in reality now- and it’s obvious to them (and me, and the majority of our left-of-center nation, and all reputable political blogs or TV news, or newspapers, or children, or small rocks, or … hell, everyone but your own mentally ill cult of traitors and haters.)

    • In the Know permalink
      November 17, 2009 11:21 am

      All typed while stuffing his face with Cheetos, World of Warcraft Mountain Dew in hand, fervently fighting for “change” in the comment section of Failblog….

  5. peachey permalink
    November 17, 2009 10:56 am

    Kathy,
    You must have touched a gigantic nerve as evidenced in the post from “Wisdom”. Keep it up, I laughed so hard that by the time I had read down to Wisdom’s pubescent ramblings I knew that you had struck gold. I will however be concerned for your mental health and wellbeing as you continue to monitor the bumblers and mumblers at Media does not-Matters. You do know that you take a risk at having a brain melt-down when constantly exposed to the useful tools and dunderheads that service George Soros.Remember that they never met a lie that they didn’t like. Keep it up. I would pay to see Eric dance around a pole in a pink tutu. No, I’ve changed my mind, the image is just too disgusting. I do think it worthwhile to start blogging on their site. Hmmmmm. I just may take myself up on that.

Comments are closed.