Skip to content

From the Pen of David Horowitz: November 18, 2009

November 18, 2009

david_p

A library of memoirs by aging new leftists and “progressive” academics recalls the rebellions of the 1960s. But hardly a page in any of them has the basic honesty – or sheer decency — to say “Yes, we supported these murderers and those spies, and the agents of that evil empire,” or to say so without an alibi. I’d like to hear even one of these advocates of “social justice” make this simple acknowledgement: “We greatly exaggerated the sins of America and underestimated its decencies and virtues, and we’re sorry.” I’d like to hear that from Soliah and her apologists. I’d like to hear them pay a moment’s tribute to Marcus Foster and to Myrna Opshal, and to the brave policemen and FBI agents who risked their lives to protect other Americans, including progressives, from the harm these criminals intended. I’d like to hear them say, just once, “I’m sorry.”

The Art of Political War

If you have a favorite Horowitz quote you want to highlight for others then please email it to DavidSwindle {@} Gmail.com. Please include:

  1. “Horowitz Quote of the Day” in subject line.
  2. A link to where the quote is from. (No need to include this if it’s from a book.)
  3. Any remarks you’d like published explaining what value you take from it.
  4. Your preferred name and a link to your blog or homepage (if you have one.)
12 Comments
  1. therealend permalink
    November 18, 2009 3:25 am

    I’m an ex-Marxist and I AM sorry for that. I wish I could take all evil thoughts back. There were people working for good in this country and I was against them. They were right and I was not. I am sorry, truly, John P., Pensacola Fl

    • therealend permalink
      November 18, 2009 3:27 am

      OOps. Not sorry for being an ex-Marxist, sorry for being a one-time Marxist.

    • themadjewess permalink
      November 18, 2009 8:19 am

      I’m an ex-Marxist and I AM sorry for that. I wish I could take all evil thoughts back. There were people working for good in this country and I was against them. They were right and I was not. I am sorry, truly, John P., Pensacola Fl’

      —-John, G-d bless you. But what are you going to do with that now? You should shout this from the top of the hills.

    • peachey permalink
      November 18, 2009 6:19 pm

      Therealend,
      Your life experience in the Marxist delusion provides everyone with insight into the insidiousness of that cancer. Never make an excuse for previous philosophies when you turn your life around. I too am a previous SDS nutball that grew into a conservative after I graduated from college, began working and seeing my money fly out the door in taxes, got married and had children. My focus then became my family and securing their future.Thank you for your comments.

  2. semus permalink
    November 18, 2009 4:58 am

    Thanks again Mr. Horowitz for your, courage but now I’m adding honesty, intelligence, and compassion.

  3. Truthteller permalink
    November 18, 2009 5:05 am

    What’s wrong with spies? Our response to the Soviet spy network was not to try to eliminate spying, but simply to construct one of the world’s most sophisticated spy networks. And regards to the FBI, it’s David himself who has denigrated the FBI, by downplaying its role in infiltrating and sabotaging the Black Panthers, instead of acknowledging that it had a fundamental role in its destabilization. In fact, if one looks at David’s biography, at the time he joined the BPP, they were a ghost party, thoroughly infiltrated and in the process of being dismantled by federal and local officials. These officers of the law generally worked in concert: witness the brilliantly organized assassination of Mark Clark and Fred Hampton. Any BPP actions following this, in 1969, must be viewed through a lens of suspicion.

    • Mike permalink
      November 18, 2009 6:25 am

      What’s wrong with disease? If it doesn’t kill us, we end up stronger though we spent all our money and vitality to deal with it.

      What’s wrong with war? It keeps us on out toes and winnows out the herd.

      What’s wrong with tyranny? It makes us value liberty.

      See, these are all good things, right?

  4. John Davidson permalink
    November 18, 2009 10:50 am

    Throughout ones’s lifetime we have been hoodwinked on serveral occasions, but we do not learn from the experience if we don’t admit to ourselves we were suck-in. This theme is the basis of the educational process. Take a test; teacher grades it pointing out your errors in the hopes that the next damned time you review the facts.

    Congress operates on another principle, though. That is why they always get a failing grade from the public.

    Once we close the mind we no longer are able dessiminate fact from fiction. Mr. Horowitz remains a thinker we must appreciate.

  5. Ez4moi permalink
    November 18, 2009 1:06 pm

    David, your insight into the Left is that which only a radical son may gain. You’ve lived it. Why do the 60’s radicals who are writing biographies and memoirs not appologize for being wrong? You of all people know that for almost all of them it takes a personal life changing event. In your case it took the murder of a close friend by a Leftist. The hollowness of progressives is filled with the dark side of Leftism to the point that there is no room for thoughts or statements which confict with that which gives their lives meaning.

    Personally, I am not going to hold my breath. Undoubtedly, many Leftists would like to see me try.

  6. Ez4moi permalink
    November 18, 2009 1:11 pm

    I believe your comments may be summarized this way: I find 60’s radicals to be morally repugnant, intellectually dishonest, and thoroughly despicable.

    But don’t let me put words in your mouth. It is after all the way I feel and think of them.

  7. Marylou permalink
    November 18, 2009 8:24 pm

    I, for one, shudder when I think of some of the things I engaged in. Then I remember that I was totally immersed in that mindset, taught to me by my family, and that I am still able if I would allow it to be admired for my leftist activities.

    I did learn a lot and can speak authoritatively about union thugs, lack of a moral compass among leaders of the left, naive followers, much that I would not know otherwise. I agree it would be fantastic to hear some of those old lefties acknowledge their destructive activity but I don’t think it can happen because of the way they “think,” or the mindset they seem to be stuck in. They are so smug.

    Every day I search for ways to remedy what I can. I think the DH book Destructive Generation has a very apt title.

    We seem to have been instrumental in destroying our once-excellent way of life, and I have deep regret. However, having mourned and grieved over it, I know better than to stay stuck in a negative mindset and now hope and pray and look for action of any sort, a word here, an motion there, that may help advance our cause.

    I just hope it’s not too late to return our country to some stability and prosperity,the way it was designed for us by our forebears.

    • John Davidson permalink
      November 18, 2009 8:37 pm

      Hang in there Marylou, more and more of those people led astray are also realizing the whole Democratic progrm had nothing to do with their proposals, but to sustain their own way of living at the expense of those very poor working folks they claimed to champion.

Comments are closed.