Skip to content

Lunch Break

November 18, 2009

One of my wife and my favorite musical groups, the Yeah Yeah Yeahs, performing on Letterman.

Lunch Break is NewsReal’s daily apolitical post. (We all need a break from this political stuff every now and then!) When commenting on Lunch Break posts do not start political, religious, or philosophical debates. In fact from now on any serious debating comments on Lunch Break posts will be deleted. You’ve got all of NewsReal’s other posts to get argumentative, lets keep this one pure. (Humorous debates about meaningless subjects are permitted.)

If you would like to submit a video (humorous/music/film trailer/intriguing/etc.), image, or poem for this feature then please email it to DavidSwindle {@} Gmail.com. (Sunday Lunch Breaks are often of a spiritual nature.) Please do not send attached videos, rather provide links to where the videos are available online at places like YouTube. Please include:

1. A link to where it’s from.

2. Any Comments you would like published with your submission

3. A link to your blog or homepage if you have one.

4. How you’d like your name published.

Also please keep it no more than PG-13 rated.

12 Comments
  1. JE Tabler permalink
    November 18, 2009 11:58 am

    I love the Yeah Yeah Yeahs.

    • F. Swemson permalink
      November 18, 2009 1:17 pm

      Hey David…

      I’m getting bored listening to YOUR cultural favorites all the time…

      So I demand equal time !

      The following the a live recording of the single greatest display of pianistic virtuosity of all times.

      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WV_Nh884PKg

      I was in the audience at Carnegie Hall when this was recorded, and it still takes my breath away every time I hear it.. Watch his hands closely, and then watch his little facial expression right after the last note, as if to say… “Not Bad !”

      One can almost say that his hand movements defy the laws of physics…

      This is a historic performance !

      Enjoy

      • November 18, 2009 2:03 pm

        YEAH YEAH YEAH Buggy Eye Person!!! Just don’t forget that Mozart too was a rocker!

        Anyone partying in Claremont, Ca in the 80’s and 90’s remembers this talented and fuzzy dude.

        As far as the Yeah, Yeah, Yeah’s, I would like to hear a studio track before judging. This performance was not quite the caliber of Alanis performing the a capella piece from her first album cold without a warm-up number.

        • F. Swemson permalink
          November 18, 2009 4:50 pm

          OK Smart Guy ! (Pun intended)

          Rather than getting into a long drawn out and totally useless argument about who’s got better taste in music (BTW: I LOVE good jazz, blues, & some of the best classic rock) can we agree on just one thing ? That “country music” totally sucks and appeals ONLY to the least educated red necks up in them thar hills ? (I know I’m asking for fight with those words… but who cares ?)

          Many years ago, a cousin of mine, while up in Cambridge, invited me to visit, to attend a concert being given by one of his math teachers. I went, and it just blew me away… This fellow wrote hysterical songs commenting on all of the relevant issues of the day, and some not that relative as well, and performed them for fun in local Cambridge hangouts (he was a classically trained pianist which helped a lot)…. His name is Tom Lehrer, and he’s an absolute genius. One of his songs explains why “country music” is so dreadful, and I think you’ll enjoy it EVEN if you like country music:

          [audio src="http://www.tncd.com/ebs/19%20Clementine.m4a" /]

          • November 18, 2009 5:07 pm

            I may have been misunderstood. I used Yeah, Yeah, Yeah in the Beatles-era mode. I meant “you go girl!” …or something to that effect. : – )

            • F. Swemson permalink
              November 18, 2009 5:12 pm

              It’s all lost on me pal…

              When I listen to modern music, I listen to Scriabin, or Stravinsky

              • F. Swemson permalink
                November 18, 2009 5:13 pm

                But Dave Brubeck was also cool

                And don’t forget Gershwin !

                When was the last time you listened to “American inParis” ?

  2. Cassandra permalink
    November 18, 2009 6:42 pm

    David, there must be some mistake. I didn’t hear any “musical” group in the video. There was some grotesque screeching, which would have been completely off-pitch even if it had been singing (which it wasn’t) and even if there had been a melody (which there wasn’t).

    They’ll be soon forgotten. Shostakovitch and Vivaldi will not.

  3. peachey permalink
    November 19, 2009 10:56 am

    David,
    I guess that you have to be of a “certain” age to enjoy this musical video. I personally like to hang out with Mozart, Chopin,some blues artists and some other rockers from not so long ago. Sorry. It was lost on me. I prefer a more complex music format that stimulates the neurons. If you “could” present a musical video with Bessie Smith belting out a tune, you would capture my attention. Simpson, your intro to the Horowitz’s virtuoso performance left out that the piece he performed is insanely difficult and very few achieve a level of perfection such as seen in the video. The smile at the end says it all.

    • F. Swemson permalink
      November 19, 2009 11:04 am

      Peachy;

      If you watch it again, you’ll see that it wasn’t actually a smile.. it was a nod to the keyboard… with the facial expression saying “Hmmm, not bad..”

      I never think of it as being difficult… .it’s well beyond difficult…

      It’s his own arrangement based on the theme by Bizet…

      This piece was played as his last encore at the concert.. The following day, the NYT music reviewer wrote as follows:

      “It appears that Mr. Horowitz is back to his transcendental stunts on the piano!”

      He had just returned to the concert stage after a 12 year hiatus..

  4. peachey permalink
    November 19, 2009 4:47 pm

    Oh my gosh Guy, you have the Moog records also? “Switched On Bach” was my favorite.You do know that this dates us. For all y0u youngsters out there, I was at the Beatles concert at Dodger Stadium. Now that’s yea, yea, yea for you.

  5. November 19, 2009 5:21 pm

    I odn’t go quite that far back. The Who at the Coliseum and Queen at the Forum are my time. I graduated from the same high school as Tommy Lee of Motley Crue one year behind him.

    My music is all over the place though, my playlist goes from Mozart to 20’s jump music to 40’s swing to show tunes and rock of all sorts. The closest I get to country though are The Eagles and Credance.

    It is fun to watch people when they hear Requiem turn into We the Cats Shall Hep Ya followed by Welcome to the Jungle by Gunz n Roses then The Rose by Bette Midler segueing into Adidas in Heat by Adrian Belew and capped off with a select bit of Streisand.

    Want intelligent music that has bite?
    Adidas is Heat: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K5imc1Ukzhs

Comments are closed.