Skip to content

Idiot Watch

December 4, 2009

“The basic problem with my love relationships with women is that my standards are so high — and they apply equally to both of us. I seek full-blast mutual intensity, fully fledged mutual acceptance, full-blown mutual flourishing, and fully felt peace and joy with each other. This requires a level of physical attraction, personal adoration, and moral admiration that is hard to find. And it shares a depth of trust and openness for a genuine soul-sharing with a mutual respect for a calling to each other and to others. Does such a woman exist for me? Only God knows and I eagerly await this divine unfolding. Like Heathcliff and Catherine’s relationship in Emily Bronte’s remarkable novel Wuthering Heights or Franz Schubert’s tempestuous piano Sonata No. 21 in B flat (D.960) I will not let life or death stand in the way of this sublime and funky love that I crave!” From Cornel West’s new memoir: Brother West: Living and Loving Out Loud.

24 Comments
  1. politicalmoxie permalink
    December 4, 2009 4:25 pm

    I sat speehless for at least 5 minutes…rare for me.
    I’m thinking this need is all about him, not about a “mutual” admiration society and people wonder why I like my dogs better than most men I’ve met.
    Ps. Out on a limb here Mr. West…You’re going to be single a very long time.

  2. M.P. O'Neal permalink
    December 4, 2009 5:47 pm

    What?

  3. Cas Balicki permalink
    December 4, 2009 5:55 pm

    But while he’s waiting for God to present the ideal soul mate, Cornel is pursuing co-eds willing to do anything for a good grade except study.

  4. Kevin Stowell permalink
    December 4, 2009 6:26 pm

    Dogs vs. men? I’m pretty crazy about my dogs (3), cat and I’m partial to my hen also. Cornell West is just trying to not be discovered for the retard I’ve always known he is.

  5. December 4, 2009 6:27 pm

    As elite universities produce more radicalized students every year, elite America becomes more and more leftist. These people may be smart, but they are not wise. The grace and common sense of Sarah Palin stand in stark contrast to Cornell West, who looks like Jiminey Crickett.

    • eco_delsol permalink
      December 5, 2009 7:39 am

      Hey! Jimminy Cricket is way better looking than this fright masked, hair head.

  6. Carterthewriter permalink
    December 4, 2009 6:35 pm

    We live in a society where the level of your income allows for a certain amount of transgressions. Anything else is a fairy tale.

    Moxie, I am on my way to the animal shelter; care to join me.

  7. David Forsmark permalink
    December 4, 2009 6:49 pm

    This is funnier than my William Shatner/ Rocket Man Lunch Break!!! What’s funnier is the people who think this guy’s a genius!

    • Cas Balicki permalink
      December 4, 2009 8:13 pm

      Give Cornel a break, David, he’s an affirmative action genius.

  8. Marylou permalink
    December 4, 2009 7:50 pm

    He certainly looks attractive, don’t you think?!

    • Cas Balicki permalink
      December 4, 2009 8:22 pm

      It’s the rabid look women go for these days, isn’t it Marylou?

  9. john doba permalink
    December 4, 2009 9:09 pm

    I’m a bit disappointed here, Dave: “Idiot Watch”? I’m a great admirer of your writing and work, but although Cornel West is a bit of a rabid loon, hey, at least here he’s displaying some culture, and trying to articulate something of the impassioned struggle many of us face finding a love partner.

    Stay on the high road; leave the name calling to the lowbrows.

  10. December 5, 2009 4:55 am

    To paraphrase Woody Allen: “The key word here is mutual.”

    Uh, if I invented a fictional character who looked and sounded exactly like West, would that be… racist?

    • David Forsmark permalink
      December 5, 2009 6:55 am

      Comment of the day!

  11. betty boop permalink
    December 5, 2009 5:39 am

    Did he lift this verbatim from Match.com? Sounds like it. Maybe that’s why he’s not getting a lot of bites. At 50+/-, men all seem to want to fall desperately in love. Sadly, to an attractive 50+/- woman, nothing is less attractive than this level of frenzy. (Particularly from a raving cross-eyed, Afro’ed Lefty professor). Runs rampant on the left and right, though. Pathetic, either way.

  12. Mike permalink
    December 5, 2009 6:24 am

    Who couldn’t resist such a looker as Cornell?

  13. theconservative permalink
    December 5, 2009 6:39 am

    You attract what you are so he deserves just what he gets!

  14. politicalmoxie permalink
    December 5, 2009 8:11 am

    @Carterthewriter
    I’ll pick you up in 15 minutes…

    @ Forsmark
    I’m going back to the Shatner lunch break…I wish I could read and watch all everyday, not enough time…

    @ bettyboop
    I laughed so loud the dogs woke up…

    @ kathyshaidle
    This is so true…unfortunately

  15. Carterthewriter permalink
    December 5, 2009 8:27 am

    Sorry, Moxie, I missed you, I ended up at a homeless shelter.

  16. Wade Moline permalink
    December 5, 2009 8:45 am

    Um, Halloween was in October. Time to remove the mask. Oh wait, he already did. If a white, conservative did the same, he’d be fired.

  17. Michaelle Maloney permalink
    December 5, 2009 11:46 am

    I think “Idiot Watch” applies more to the politicians in DC. This is my idiot watch no doubt.

    This Cornel guy acts like this individual he will love will be a divine supernatural being that doesn’t exist on earth. If he is the type that is way too picky, he may have little hope as he certainty isn’t the most shining, handsome, heavenly person that one ever did see!! Get the teeth fixed and tone down the hair Mr. Cornel.

  18. Davidka permalink
    December 5, 2009 11:54 am

    If not for affirmative action, would imbeciles like this even have a job? Repeat after me, “hustling windbag.”

    The aa professors at my alma mater, UC Santa Cruz, were just as stupid, although less well known.

  19. Rich Hall permalink
    December 5, 2009 1:29 pm

    This person is deranged. Granted, that’s not a very flattering picture, however having read some of his delusional rants, it seems to capture the essence very well. In a decent society, Cornel West would be looked after–in a caring way- in a State
    Mental Hospital.
    He’s obviously not well. The leftists shut down the Psych hospitals, and sadly folks who are emotionally unbalanced are now either on the streets, in our prisons, or if they can espouse the “Party Line”, are now tenured professors.

  20. Carbondioxide permalink
    December 5, 2009 3:12 pm

    My advice recalls the Steven Seagall movie line:”Prepare to wipe the memory”.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.